Skip Navigation

Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools


Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools

Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools

Team News.

Team News

8 years ago @ 2:28PM

NCOSA End of Season Honors

 2011 Prep Soccer: Van Buren girls sweep top NCOSA honors

Van Buren swept the big prizes as the North Central Ohio Soccer Association released its first all-conference selections in girls soccer recently.

Van Buren junior midfielder Kristen Tropf was named the NCOSA Player of the Year while coach Tom Piccirillo was named the league's coach of the year after guiding the Black Knights to the league title.

Tropf was the player that made the offense go for the Black Knights this season. She has 12 goals, but dished out a team-best 21 assists on the way to helping Van Buren post a 15-1-1 record.

Tropf was joined on the first team by teammates Kayla Sonnenberg and Nichole Miller.

All-NCOSA Girls Soccer
First Team

MIDFIELDERS -- Kristen Tropf, Van Buren, jr. ; Kayla Sonnenberg, jr., Van Buren; Kylie Cole, sr., Riverdale. FORWARDS -- Laura Fish, sr., Liberty-Benton; Jill Steinmetz, soph., Bluffton; Shaunna Lee, sr., Liberty-Benton; Miranda Albert, jr., Riverdale; Jordyn Wright, soph., Riverdale; Kayla Trevino, soph., Liberty-Benton; Jaime Calvin, fr., Upper Sandusky; Nichole Miller, fr., Van Buren.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Kristen Tropf, Van Buren.
COACH OF THE YEAR -- Tom Piccirillo, Van Buren. 

Second Team

DEFENDERS --Ava Yoakum, sr., Bluffton; Casey Frey, jr., Riverdale; Rachel Yoder, jr., Bluffton; Michaela Conkle, jr., Van Buren; Taylor Fieger, sr., Van Buren. FORWARD -- Sarah Clum, sr., Ada. GOALKEEPERS -- Ashley Arbaugh, sr., Van Buren. MIDFIELDERS -- Sarah Beeman, sr., Liberty-Benton; Paige Wieman, jr., Cory-Rawson; Marisa Burkett, jr., Liberty-Benton; Brigitte Snow, jr., Upper Sandusky.

Honorable Mention

MIDFIELDERS -- Karli Leugers, jr., Bluffton; Annabel Pinkney, jr., Ada; Cosette Brodeur, jr., Ada; Madi Endicott, jr., Van Buren; Sydney Stuck, jr., Liberty-Benton. GOALKEEPERS -- Natasha Long, jr., Ada; Breanne Parish, soph., Riverdale; Keely Stover, soph., Upper Sandusky. FORWARDS -- Megan Dulle, jr., Bluffton. DEFENDERS -- Molly Moser, soph., Bluffton; Erica Frantz, jr.,Cory-Rawson; Kelsey Reese, jr., Cory-Rawson; Lauren Marshall, fr., Liberty-Benton; Alex Johnson, sr., Liberty-Benton; Kristen Evans, soph., Riverdale; Aubry Wentling, sr., Upper Sandusky; SydneyJameson, jr., Van Buren.

Team News

8 years ago @ 2:30PM

2011 All Northwest District Selections

Kalida's girls soccer program swept three top awards as the Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association released its all-Northwest District selections for the 2011 season.

Kalida's Dave Kehres was named the Division III Girls Coach of the Year while Summer Holtkamp was voted the Division III Girls Player of the Year. Also, Kalida's Brent Bockrath picked up the district's assistant coach of the year award.

Kehres and Holtkamp led the Wildcats to a 14-2-3 record and a share of the Putnam County League title.

Holtkamp was joined on the Division III first team by Fort Jennings' Macy Schroeder, Ottoville's Lauren Koch, Liberty-Benton's Kayla Trevino and Laura Fish, Kalida's Laylyn Verhoff, Miller City's Jessica Nienberg and Van Buren's Kristin Tropf and Kayla Sonnenberg.

Division III Girls

First Team

FORWARDS -- Summer Holtkamp, jr., Kalida; Kelly Ahman, sr., Lima Central Catholic; Macy Schroeder, jr., Fort Jennings; Jessica Grindle, sr., Northwood; Lauren Koch, sr., Ottoville; Sydney Santaguida, fr., Lima Central Catholic; Kayla Trevino, soph., Liberty-Benton; Kaylyn Verhoff, Kalida, jr. MIDFIELDERS -- Kayla Sonnenberg, jr., Van Buren; Jessica Nienberg, sr., Miller City; Lauren Kindlinger, jr., Archbold; Kristin Tropf, jr., Van Buren. DEFENDERS -- Carley Wyse, sr., Archbold; Laura Fish, sr., Liberty-Benton; Marissa Ramirez, sr., Northwood. GOALKEEPER -- Leva Weller, jr., Continental.

Second Team

FORWARDS -- Jill Steinmetz, soph., Bluffton; Jordyn Wright, soph., Riverdale; Kirsten Fruchey, sr., Delta; Nichole Miller, fr., Van Buren; Taylor Williamson, jr., Continental; Courtney Grothouse, sr., Delphos St. John's; Marissa Schroeder, sr., Miller City. MIDFIELDERS -- Jackie Gardner, fr., Kalida; Kylie Cole, sr., Riverdale; Lydia Yeager, soph., Toledo Christian; Jesse Fidler, soph., Archbold; Mindy Rupp, sr., Archbold. DEFENDERS -- April Horstman, sr., Ottoville; Michaela Kramer, soph., Botkins; Abagail Karikas, jr., Genoa. GOALKEEPER -- Allyson Bartels, sr., Liberty Center.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Summer Holtkamp, Kalida.

COACH OF THE YEAR -- David Kehres, Kalida.

ASSISTANT COACH OF THE YEAR -- Brent Bockrath, Kalida.


Team News

8 years ago @ 2:31PM

2011 Ohio Soccer Coaches Association All State Team

A trio of area players earned first-team honors as the Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association released its all-Ohio teams for the 2011 season.

Findlay High School's Mark Sleasman, Ottawa-Glandorf's T.J. Metzger and Kalida's Summer Holtkamp were the area's first teamers.

Sleasman made the first team in Division I as a forward. He was the top offensive player for the Trojans this season after scoring 22 goals and adding eight assists.

Holtkamp, a junior, was a first team Division III girls selection at forward. She earned Putnam County League Player of the Year award and helped the Wildcats to a share of the conference title this season.

Metzger, meanwhile, earned first team honors in Division II as a forward. He scored 15 goals and added 12 assists to help the Titans reach the regional finals.

Upper Sandusky's Derrick Skillman made the second team boys list in Division II. Liberty-Benton's Erik Naliborski, Ottoville's Sam Beining and Kalida's Cody Schnipke were second team in Division III. 

Fort Jennings' Macy Schroeder, Liberty-Benton's Laura Fish, Van Buren's Kayla Sonnenberg and Continental's Leva Weller were second team Division III girls selections.


Division III Girls
First Team

FORWARDS -- Emily Badock, jr., Doylestown Chippewa; Morgan Beck, sr., Cincinnati Madeira; Meghan Blank, jr., Middletown Fenwick; Amanda Fowler, sr., Ontario; Emily Hartley, fr., Coshocton; Summer Holtkamp, jr., Kalida; Sophie Maddalena, sr., Springfield Catholic Central; Erin Simmons, sr., Gahanna Columbus Academy; Jacoby Ziegler, sr., Wellington. MIDFIELDERS -- Alyssa Neff, sr., West Liberty Salem; Kaili Smith, sr., Independence; Nicky Waldeck, jr., Hudson Western Reserve; Alexis Zubick, sr., Springfield.; Logan Berlet, sr., Gahanna Columbus Academy; Lydia Eichorn, soph., Mansfield Christian; Karen Hilt, sr., Lynchburg Clay. DEFENDER -- Kim Golden, sr., Hamilton Badin. GOALKEEPER -- Caitlyn McCullough, sr., Cincinnati Madeira. 

Second Team (NW Ohio Players Only)FORWARDS -- Kelly Ahman, sr., Lima Central Catholic; Jessica Grindle, sr., Northwood; Macy Schroeder, jr., Fort Jennings. MIDFIELDERS -- Sarah Cepero, sr., Ashland Mapleton; Kayla Sonnenberg, jr., Van Buren. DEFENDERS -- Laura Fish, sr., Liberty-Benton; Carley Wyse, sr., Archbold. GOALKEEPER -- Leva Weller, jr., Continental.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Meghan Blank, Middletown Fenwick.

COACH OF THE YEAR -- Michael Haney, Cincinnati Mariemont. 

ASSISTANT COACH OF THE YEAR -- Paul Orme, Dayton Christian. 

Team News

8 years ago @ 2:32PM

All Time Season Records

Varsity W-L-D

2009 6-9-2

2010 11-5-1

2011 15-2-1
Advertisement Advertisement