Skip Navigation

Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools


Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools

Black Knights Athletics

Van Buren Local Schools



6 months ago by Todd McCracken

NCOSA All League Honors for Girls & Boys Soccer

Prep Soccer: Van Buren’s McCracken, L-B’s Richards net top NCOSA awards


 The Courier




Players and coaches from teams still alive in tournament play swept the top honors as the North Central Ohio Soccer Association released its all-conference boys and girls soccer teams for the 2018 season.

In the boys selections, Van Buren’s Nick McCracken was named the NCOSA Player of the Year and his coach, Jeff Swaisgood, netted the coach of the year award after Van Buren tied with Riverdale for the NCOSA crown.

Liberty-Benton’s Savanah Richards was voted the NCOSA Player of the Year on the girls side after leading the Eagles to the outright league crown. L-B’s Mark Pagano was the conference’s coach of the year.

McCracken, a junior midfielder, netted 16 goals and dished out 19 assists as Van Buren finished the regular season with a 14-2 record.

Van Buren senior Thomas Piccirillo was a first-team selection at midfield. Junior Hunter Stone and senior Nate Gregory made the first team at forward and defender, respectively.

Other first-team boys selections included Cory-Rawson senior goalkeeper Caleb Camper, Liberty-Benton senior midfielders Cameron Schroeder and Noah Aschemeier, Riverdale junior Coby Miller and sophomore Jackson Clark at midfield, Ada senior midfielder Chris Reyes and Upper Sandusky junior forward Jaidyn Thiel.

Richards, meanwhile, led Liberty-Benton’s girls team to 14-0-1 regular season record as she scored 28 goals and added 17 assists to lead the Eagles.

Richards’ teammates, sophomores Alexis Rickenbacher and Sophie Aschemeier made the all-NCOSA girls first team at midfield and goalkeeper, respectively.

Other first teamers included Van Buren junior forward Hannah Missler, senior midfielder Grace Hoerig and junior goalkeeper Jewelya Hutchison, Cory-Rawson sophomore forward Zoe Chisholm, Upper Sandusky senior midfielder Alivia Oney and senior defender Jenna Rodriguez and Riverdale senior defenders Brandi Borkosky and Alex Rothlisberger.

All-NCOSA Girls Soccer


FORWARD — Hannah Missler, jr., Van Buren; Zoe Chisholm, soph., Cory-Rawson; Savanah Richards, sr., Liberty-Benton. MIDFIELD — Alivia Oney, sr., Upper Sandusky; Grace Hoerig, sr., Van Buren; Alexis Rickenbacher, soph., Liberty-Benton. GOALKEEPER — Jewela Hutchison, jr., Van Buren; Sophie Aschemeier, soph., Liberty-Benton. DEFENDER — Jenna Rodriguez, sr., Upper Sandusky; Brandi Borkosky, sr., Riverdale; Alex Rothlisberger, sr., Riverdale,

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Savanah Richards, Liberty-Benton.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Mark Pagano, Liberty-Benton.


FORWARD — Katelyn Hildebrand, sr., Riverdale; Maya Rickle, soph., Liberty-Benton. DEFENDER — Zoe Horne, jr., Van Buren; Elizabeth Burd, jr., Riverdale; Brenna Hissong, soph., Ada. MIDFIELD — Grace Roebke, soph., Cory-Rawson; Libby McVetta, soph., Cory-Rawson; Taylor Norris, sr., Upper Sandusky; Mady Parker, jr., Van Buren; Taylor Ward, soph., Liberty-Benton; Chloe Kin, jr., Liberty-Benton.


DEFENDER — Faith Dearwester, sr., Cory-Rawson; Makena Barnes, soph., Riverdale; Alyssa Potteiger, jr., Van Buren; Madilyn Pawlak, soph., Van Buren; Peyton Sendelbach, soph., Van Buren; Brooke Swavel, fr., Upper Sandusky; Abbey Hatch, jr., Liberty-Benton; Brooke Deeter, fr., Liberty-Benton. MIDFIELD — Lexi Nagy, soph., Liberty-Benton; Janna Breidenbach, soph., riverdale; Payton Rodriguez, soph., Riverdale; Haley Frey, jr., Riverdale. GOALKEEPER — Katy Miller, sr., Riverdale; Cortni Brown, jr., Upper Sandusky. FORWARD — Audrey Boes, sr., Upper Sandusky; Katie Butterfield, soph., Ada

All-NCOSA Boys Soccer


GOALKEEPER — Caleb Camper, sr., Cory-Rawson. MIDFIELD — Cameron Schroeder, sr., Liberty-Benton; Noah Aschemeier, sr., Liberty-Benton; Coby Miller, jr., Riverdale; Jackson Clark, soph., Riverdale; Chris Reyes, sr., Ada; Nick McCracken, jr., Van Buren; Thomas Piccirillo, sr. FORWARD — Hunter Stone, jr., Van Buren; Jaidyn Thiel, jr., Upper Sandusky. DEFENDER — Nate Gregory, sr., Van Buren.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Nick McCracken, Van Buren.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Jeff Swaisgood, Van Buren.


FORWARD — Lucas Mattingly, sr., Liberty-Benton. DEFENDER — Nic Rettig, sr., Van Buren; Noah Garmon, sr., Ada; Jacob Okuly, sr., Ada; Quinten Voorhees, sr., Upper Sandusky. MIDFIELD — Ty;er Stoodt, sr., Cory-Rawson; James Koehler, sr., Van Buren; Logan Frey, jr., Riverdale; Skylar Williams, jr., Ada. GOALKEEPER — Anson Hill, jr., Upper Sandusky; Ethan Shane, jr., Riverdale.


MIDFIELD — Nick Schloemp, fr., Liberty-Benton; Owen Karcher, jr., Cory-Rawson; Gabe Baker, sr., Upper Sandusky; Brendan Sheridan, sr., Ada; Jon Allen, sr., Ada. FORWARD — Tyler Hart, jr., Riverdale; Brady Losiewicz, jr., Van Buren; Ross Swinehart, jr., Upper Sandusky; Trent Ward, sr., Liberty-Benton. DEFENDER — Gabe Hardy-Fowler, soph., Liberty-Benton.

Advertisement Advertisement